G7 and Democracy

The main reason for posting this note after the recent G7 Summit was the headline that US President Joe Biden used on his Twitter account above the picture.

'' Diplomacy is back '' "Diplomacy is back"

What is G7?

Group 07 (Group of Seven) was formed in 1975 with a conference in France as an intergovernmental political and economic forum, co-founded by the leaders of seven world powers, with G as the initials of Group. At that time 06 countries participated in it and the inaugural event was called G6. (This is also known by some as the Heads of State Summit in Industrial Countries)

G6 G7 G8 and again G7

At the first conference held by France in 1975, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States joined the host France. With the addition of Canada in 1976, the convention was renamed the G7. Russia joined the political and economic forum in 1997 and became known as the G8 the following year (1977).

Russia, meanwhile, suspended its participation in the Interstate Summit indefinitely in 2014 after a massive political move to annex Crimea (following Russia's massive political intervention) and renamed the forum G7.

Later in 2017, Russia announced its permanent withdrawal from the summit.

Other states connected to the G7

It has represented the European Union as a participant here since the 1980s, but the conference was renamed the G7. In addition, leaders of other countries of the world have participated in the CHOGM on various occasions. It is based on the friendly relations that the respective states maintain with the G7 major states.

For example, during the 2016 Good Governance Summit, President Maithripala Sirisena was invited to the G7 Summit in Japan and Maithri became the first Sri Lankan President to attend a G7 Summit.

South Korean President Moon Jae-in, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa, Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi were special guests at the 47th Summit of Heads of State in England this year (2021).

Collectively, 40 percent of global nominal GDP depends on the G7 states.

2021 G7 Heads of State

American President Joe Biden

Prime Minister of Canada Jantin Tudo

Boris Johnson, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom

Emmanuel Macron, President of France

Japanese Prime Minister Yoshida Suga

Italian Prime Minister Mario D'Arro

German Chancellor Angela Merkel

2021 Guests

South Korean President Moon Jae-in

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa

Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi

On behalf of the European Union

Ursula Vaughan is the head of the European Commission

Head of the Council of Europe Charles Mitchell

Post a Comment