There is no country or island in the world called West Indies

Most of us know about the West Indies because of cricket. But there is no West Indies state or single island on the world map. So why the West Indies?
These states are located to the south of the small strip that separates North America and South America on the world map. Known as the West Indies, it is shown on the world map as the Caribbean Islands. This is because the archipelago is located around the Caribbean Sea.

The West Indies are made up of 13 countries. In addition, there are 18 administrative and proprietary island states in the United States, Britain, France, Colombia and Venezuela (some of which are island lands only) in the Caribbean.

The West Indies are 13 countries

 Antigua and Barbuda

Management Bahamas


Dominican Republic




Management Jamaica


Trinidad and Tobago

St. Kitts and Nevis

St. Lucia

St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

The other 18 states and islands form the Caribbean. Brian Lara was born in Trinidad and Tobago. Sir Viv Richard was born in Leeward, an island nation in Britain. Darren Sammy was born in St. Lucia.

Post a Comment